UMS-Haemostasis Laboratory

The UMS-Haemostasis Laboratory was establish on 10th August 2010. The Laboratory is  located in the Department of Pathobiology and Medical Diagnostics, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences. The laboratory receives blood samples for the diagnosis of bleeding disorders from various hospitals in the state of Sabah. On 23rd December 2015, the UMS- Haemostasis Laboratory was awarded the Certification of Accreditation for MS ISO 15189 in Medical Testing: Haematology by the Department of Standards Malaysia. This award makes the UMS-Haemostasis Laboratory the first and only laboratory within UMS and the state of Sabah to receive MS ISO 15189 accreditation

The laboratory tests offered are as follows:
  1. Warfarin Monitoring (INR) 
  2. Activated Partial Thromboplastin Time (APTT) 
  3. Fibrinogen Estimation  
  4. D-Dimer – Disseminated Intravascular Coagulation(DIC)Screen 
  5. Bleeding Time (BT) 
  6. Whole Blood Clotting Time (WBCT) 
  7. Clot Stability Test for F.XIII  
  8. Clot- Retraction Test  
  9. APTT Mixing Test  Clotting Factor Assays – VIII, IX, V,  VII, X, XI, XII, II   
  10. Factor VIII/IX Inhibitor Estimation 
  11. Lupus Anticoagulant Screen/Confirm
  12. Prothrombin Time (PT)

Laboratory Turn Around Time (LTAT)

  • Coagulation Profile :  3 hours
  • DIC screen :  2 hours
  • Factor assays :  4 hours
  • Inhibitors to F.VIII/IX :  5 hours*
  • LA Screen :  3 hours
Contact US
UMS-Haemostasis Laboratory
Block D, Level G Faculty of Medicine & Health Sciences
88450 Kota Kinabalu, Sabah.
Tel : 088-32000 - Ext 611417-611418