header 7 feb


History About Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences


UMS was established in 24 November 1994. His Royal Highness the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong made the proclamation of the establishment of UMS under section 6 (1) University and College University Act 1971. UMS is Malaysia’s ninth public university. It has expanded rapidly over the years since its inception. The first management office was located at the Ministry of Education Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur and later shifted to Kota Kinabalu. Teaching and research activities commenced in 1995 in rented premises. Meanwhile, physical development of the campus on the 999-acre site started in August 1995. The new campus was occupied in 2000. Another historical moment for UMS was the setting up of the Labuan International Campus on 2nd January 1999. The Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences in the main campus was established in 2011, and the Nursing Clinical Block in nearby Likas in 2012.


The School of Medicine, now known as the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences (FMHS), or Fakulti Perubatan dan Sains Kesihatan (FPSK) in Bahasa Malaysia, was established in 2003 with the primary aim to increase the number of medical doctors, nurses and other health professionals, especially in Sabah, to meet the increasing demand for such personnel in Malaysia. Its main objective is to produce committed and concerned medical and health professionals who are sensitive to the health needs of the communities, with emphasis to their total wellbeing within their cultural and traditional orientation. The Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences is steadfast in its quest to achieve excellence in medical and health education, which is geared toward producing competent graduates capable of contributing productively in the provision of best practice health care in the community, the nation and the world.




This Week
Last Week
This Month
Last Month
All days

Back to top