Directory |  Contact Us  |   Staff   |   Student   |  Visitor  |




English (UK)BahasaMelayuMalaysiaChinese (Simplified)


UMS Student Representative Council Elections Went smoothly

THURSDAY, 20 OCTOBER – Polling for Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS) Student Representative Council (MPP) was carried out simultaneously in Kota Kinabalu, Labuan and Sandakan, yesterday.

The voting process started from 9.00 am until 7.00 pm and saw a total of 16 candidates vying for the seven seats contested at the Main Campus.

Meanwhile, four candidates were contesting for two General Seats at UMS Labuan International Campus (KAL) and two candidates for one seat in Sandakan.

Nur Adilah Ismail, a student of the Faculty of Psychology and Education (FPP), topped the list garnering a total of 3,831 votes.

Trailing closely behind with encouraging votes were Wan Mahussin Wan Zain (3,751) and Mohd. Johari Mohd. Shafuwan (3,738).

The four remaining seats were won by Lim Way Yang (3,346), Mohd. Afi Haziq Sapili (3,286), Muhammad Naqueeb Abdul Rahman (3,223) and Nur Syabira Anis Mohd. Rodzi (2,810).

Two General Seats at UMSKAL were held by Mohd. Fadzil Mohd. Arfah and Husna ‘Izzati Abdullah, whilst the General Seat for Sandakan Campus went to Nur Hidayahtul Ain Anuar.

As for Faculty Seats, a total of 22 seats were contested with each faculty including Postgraduate Studies Centre allocating two seats.

The results were announced by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Student Affairs and Alumni) UMS, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ismail Ali at UMS Library Auditorium.

He also announced an increase in the percentage of students who cast their votes to 57.1% compared to 38% last year.

Also present were the Chairman of the Student Representatives Council 2016/2017 Session, Prof. Dr. Rasid Mail, and the Head of Student Affairs Department, Azmi Jumat. - (fl)


ums qr150 facebook361 twitter361 utube361 flickr361 h linkedin  



mygov kpm36 mampu36