Directory |  Contact Us  |   Staff   |   Student   |  Visitor  |




English (UK)BahasaMelayuMalaysiaChinese (Simplified)

UMS La Salle Sevens Rugby Championship

ragbi finalTUESDAY, 18 JUNEThe UMS La Salle Sevens Open Rugby Championship organised by S. M. La Salle with the cooperation of the Students Council (MPP) and second year students of Sports Science of Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS) recently received good response.

A total of 12 teams divided into four groups battled for the champion spot.  KK Sharks RFC team, Osca Development and Kudat Rugby were in Group A, while La Salle team, Warrior Lions and UMS Rafflesia were in Group B, Labuan RFC team, S. M. La Salle Esajadi and Sipitang were in Group C and OSCA team, Keningau and Warrior Tiger in Group D.

KK Sharks RFC team emerged champions in the UMS La Salle Sevens Cup Category when they sank OSCA team with an agregate of 19-10 and successfully added tries in half time.  For the Plate category, S. M. La Salle Esajadi team beat Sipitang with a total score of 24-7.  Meanwhile in the Bowl category, UMS Rafflesia team managed to beat Labuan RFC with a score of 17-12 during extra time.

In the Championship, the referees received advice and guidance from UMS Sports Science lecturer, Dr. Mohamad Nizam Nazarudin who is also an International Rugby Board Instructor (IRB) and performance evaluator.

The Director of UMS La Salle Sevens Rugby who is also the advisor for the S. M. La Salle rugby team, Nazri K. Hamid said that he was pleased with the smooth flow of the championship.

“I hope that this championship would be continued to produce more good players with high potential,” he added.

Meanwhile, S. M. La Salle Senior Assistant, Safri Jeffri when met said that the cooperation between S. M. La Salle and UMS in organising this event had formed a good rapport besides creating interests to others in promoting rugby in Sabah.  The prize-giving ceremony for all category was also done by him.  – FL

By: Sports Science Programme, SPPS

                                                                                                    Information and Media Section, Corporate Relations Division


ums qr150 facebook361 twitter361 utube361 flickr361 h LinkedIn  



mygov kpm36 mampu36