Directory |  Contact Us  |   Staff   |   Student   |  Visitor  |




English (UK)BahasaMelayuMalaysiaChinese (Simplified)


173 International Students Attend Luncheon Talk With Tun Zaki

THURSDAY, 22 OCTOBER – A total of 173 international students attended a Luncheon Talk with the Chairman of the Board of Directors Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS) Tun Zaki Tun Azmi at the Auditorium, Department of Information Technology and Communication, yesterday.

The talk held for the first time started off with an introduction by the Director of the Office for International Affairs (PHEA), Molly Donna Awang Sham.

The programme continued with a lecture by Tun Zaki who commented on the academic achievements of the students.

He announced that three international students would receive awards for academic excellence at the forthcoming convocation ceremony this November.

One of them is a student from South Korea who will receive the award after achieving a total of 3.97 Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA).

Two other students would received the Dean’s Award.

Meanwhile, Tun Zaki also talked on other issues related to language problems, social and student activities.

He also urged UMS to help students strengthen their grasp in the English language by creating programmes such as public speaking, introduce more group activities and Homestay Programme.

He made a suggestion to the international students that they need to learn and ultimately master the Malay language.

Also present were Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic and International), Professor Dr. D Kamarudin D Mudin; Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Student Affairs and Alumni), Associate Professor Dr. Ismail Ali; Dean of the Centre for Postgraduate Studies, Professor Datin Dr. Marian Abdul Latip; Dean for the Promotion of Knowledge and Language, Professor Dr. Vincent Pang; UMS Investment representative, Ramlan Awang Ali and Academic Services Division representative, Gahzali Nurilah.

For the record, students who attended the programme were from the People’s Republic of China, Brunei, Indonesia, Maldives, Fiji, Timor Leste, Tanzania, Oman, Zanzibar, Iraq, Vietnam and Cambodia.  – SS (fl)

Source: Mohd Khairuddin Ahmad, PHEA


ums qr150 facebook361 twitter361 utube361 flickr361 h linkedin  



mygov kpm36 mampu36