295 Science Foundation Students Receive Their Certificates

WEDNESDAY, 28 SEPTEMBER – A total of 295 students of Preparatory Centre for Science and Technology (PPST), Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS) received their certificates of Foundation Studies at a function held at the Main Lecture Hall 1, recently.

The 6th Science Foundation Certificate Presentation was officiated by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic and International), Professor Dr. D Kamarudin D Mudin.

In his speech, he hoped that the students could acquire knowledge and at the same time benefit from the knowledge gained throughout their studies at PPST, thus generating creativity and innovation to be applied in their everyday life.

“I urge students to cultivate an interest in the science and technology field, and be committed and enthusiastic being part of a driving-force for the rapid development of the country,” he said, representing the Vice-Chancellor of UMS, Professor Datuk Dr. Mohd Harun Abdullah.

Meanwhile, PPST Director, Dr. Sazmal Effendi Arshad said, having success was wonderful but to achieve that success was not easy.

“Therefore, do not be quick to give up hope and be contented with the little success achieved.

“Students must have a positive attitude towards life, committed to his duties and responsibilities, always have integrity and improve yourselves even when you have achieved a higher echelon,” he said.

Prof. Dr D Kamarudin also presented four special awards to students of PPST at the function.

For the Vice-Chancellor Award, the recipients was Siti Zaleha Abd Tahar, whilst the Director’s Award went to Mohd. Helmie Janong.

The Dedicated Student Award and Leadership Award were each won by Joubert Joisin and Shazlin Ma Abrihim @ Ibrahim.

The winners each received a certificate of appreciation and a trophy. – (fl)



  •  Staff Directory
  • Staff Portal
  •  Student Portal
  •  SmartUMS
  •  E-Respon
  • Covid 19 :UMS Update


  •  UMS Map
  • Open Data
  • Sabah State Government Portal
  • Minister of Higher Education (MOHE)
  • MyGovernment Portal (MyGov)
  • UMS Investment Holdings Sdn. Bhd.